Silk Creek Metalworks

On Life and Craft

An Artist: Diagnosis & Treatment

10 Comments

     This happens to be my first blog post ever so I figured I’d give you a little bit of background.  I was born with and have lived most of my life with a condition called “Being an Artist.”

Artist [ahr-tist] -noun.  1. A person who possesses a unique way of seeing of the world around them and displays an uncontrollable compulsion to manipulate materials and objects into creations that express what they see. 

     As with many conditions, there were early signs.  As a child I didn’t talk much because I was too busy being fascinated with things that most people would consider ordinary or mundane.

Like tree fungus.

tree fungus

And decomposing leaves.

decomposing-leaf.jpg

     Luckily, I had loving parents who took notice of me gazing at odd things and picking up random pieces of bark and garbage to paint and assemble into objects that didn’t make much sense. They suspected the possibility that I could be a bit of an artist, so as soon as I was old enough they gave me these:

paint supplies

And I eventually learned to create things like these:

tree branch painting

painting in b&w

     Having the tools and knowledge I needed to paint certainly helped my condition, but due to the severity of my case, it was not enough.  My symptoms continued to persist into early adulthood.  As the age of technology was bringing everyone else cell phones and flat screen TV’s, I was happy with my dual deck cassette player in my colorfully painted one room apartment with a futon mattress on the floor and doodled on scraps of paper tacked to the walls.  I liked to walk and ride my bike everywhere I went so that the scenery would go by slower, and working in a cubicle was the most frightening thought imaginable.

woman-cubicle-296x300

     Given that my random collection of painted, folded, glued, carved, assembled, and otherwise altered objects was beginning to pile up, something simply had to be done.  So with the help of my woodworking dad and the local hardware store, I started collecting things like these:

PicsArt_1358345592907

That way I could turn piles of stuff like this:

Elements of Metalwork

.

Into things like these:

Woodsy Copper Cuff

Aspen Leaf

Collage 2

    Well, so far it looks like metalwork was the perfect prescription for my compulsion to create.  I have an amazing variety of tools and materials that I can use to make whatever I might imagine, and there is always something new to figure out. I still paint and make strange objects out of household items but I rarely run screaming at the thought of being a semi-well adjusted part of society. I’m even starting my very own jewelry business! Imagine that!

Leaf Necklace     So if you or someone you love begins showing signs or symptoms of being an Artist, there is not much need to worry.  Just be patient, and look for the necessary tools needed to allow creativity to flourish.  Also, be sure to provide plenty of space and time to wander around for inspiration.  With the right care, most artists are able to lead successful and relatively normal lives.  …Relatively.

Note: It is not advisable to let symptoms of being an artist go untreated. In very severe cases you could end up like this:

.

.

salvador-dali-funny-portrait

Salvador Dali and the Amazing Mustache

    

Author: Jill E. Herbert

I am an aspiring metal smith inspired by nature, art, and life. I use various textures and patinas to create designs that reflect my love for the colors and compositions we see in nature and all around us. I hope you enjoy my unique creations!

10 thoughts on “An Artist: Diagnosis & Treatment

  1. Uh oh. I might be at risk 🙂

  2. Great introduction!

  3. In very early grade school I definitely showed signs of this condition. Given a piece of paper with a box on it I drew a scene around the outside of the box. Was called into the principals office for literally thinking outside the box.

  4. I followed you from google+ and so glad I click that link. This is the best self introduction I have ever read. You have just hooked me! 🙂 I believe I suffer from this condition too. It is the best condition to have. Look forward to seeing what you create and post in the future.

    • That’s go great to hear! Thanks so much! It is the best condition to have! I wouldn’t give it up for anything in the world! Not even a pet hippopotamus, and I would really like to have a pet hippopotamus! 🙂
      I think my next post is going to have something to do with the beautiful accidents that happened while trying to learn fold forming. I just need to finish up some pieces and take some pics so stay tuned! 🙂
      Thanks for visiting, Sierra!

  5. You have always been a creative,artistic,and caring friend and artist.I still have many creations and jewerly made by your awesome imagination !!! I’m so proud of you Jill
    BTW (I thought the pet was a pink elephant ?) 🙂

  6. Thanks so much, Jules!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

